/> font-family: 'Cookie', cursive; -->

a book, film + chit chatty blog

Thursday, 23 June 2016

Film Review: Tale of Tales



Matteo Garrone’s Tale of Tales is unlike any fairytale movie you’d have ever seen. A mishmash of the fantasy, horror and supernatural genres, it is considerably darker, more sinister and a far cry from than the Disney classics we’re perhaps more used to.

SHARE:

Monday, 20 June 2016

The Second Love of My Life by Victoria Walters


**I kindly received a copy from Headline Publishing in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinions on the book.

Synopsis
Victoria Walters' debut novel is a powerful tale of love, grief and survival, perfect for fans of Cecelia Ahern, Lucy Dillon and Miranda Dickinson. 'Brilliant and superior women's fiction'Heat

In the Cornish town of Talting, everyone is famous for something.

Until recently Rose was known for many things: her infectious positivity; her unique artistic talent; and her devotion to childhood sweetheart Lucas.

But two years ago that changed in one unthinkable moment. Now, Rose is known for being the young woman who became a widow aged just twenty-four.

Though Rose knows that life must go on, the thought of carving out a new future for herself is one she can barely entertain. Until a newcomer, Robert, arrives in Talting for the summer...

Can Rose allow herself the chance to love again?


SHARE:

Monday, 13 June 2016

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes


Synopsis:


Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn't know is she's about to lose her job or that knowing what's coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he's going to put a stop to that.

What Will doesn't know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they're going to change the other for all time.

I'd been seeing this book all over the blogs and on booktube. And since the film has been doing so well in the box office this week, now is the best time to share my thoughts on Me Before You. Going into this, I did have some high expectations and
SHARE:

Wednesday, 8 June 2016

Film Review: Big Eyes


At first glance, Big Eyes is probably not the most recognisable Tim Burton film.

SHARE:

Saturday, 4 June 2016

Shame by Jasvinder Sanghera


**I kindly received this book from Hodder & Stoughton in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinions on the book.

Synopsis:

When she was fourteen, Jasvinder Sanghera was shown a photo of the man chosen to be her husband. She was terrified. She'd witnessed the torment her sisters endured in their arranged marriages, so she ran away from home, grief-stricken when her parents disowned her. Shame" is the heart-rending true story of a young girl's attempt to escape from a cruel, claustrophobic world where family honour mattered more than anything -- sometimes more than life itself. Jasvinder's story is one of terrible oppression, a harrowing struggle against a punitive code of honour -- and, finally, triumph over adversity.

Rating: 4.25/5 Stars

While I love a good autobiography, I normally find it difficult to be engaged when reading the life story of someone I don't know much about. Going into this,
SHARE:
Blogger Template Created by pipdig